下载本用例
下载中心
预测性维护
提高生产效率快乐的工人
飞机检查是商业航空业务的重要组成部分,必须持续进行。在过去的几十年里,复合材料作为飞机机身的首选材料,其使用量和生产量都显著增加。因此,为了满足日益增长的需求,复合材料制造过程实现了自动化。随着以更快的速度生产出更多的零件,高效的质量检测和维修变得至关重要。

在制造机身板时,其中一个关键的步骤是目测:每个缺陷都必须被单独定位,然后由操作人员验证,然后才能过渡到下一阶段。然而,由于机身面板的尺寸非常大,以及它们的材料特性(暗色、反射率极低、很少有可用作锚点的特征),这项任务可能相当繁琐。当放置复合纤维的机器首先发现缺陷时,就会产生原始报告记录;然后必须由技术人员手动绘制必要的修理图,他们往往依靠书面记录和照片来指导。信息必须经过双重或三重检查,以确保完全准确,这不可避免地导致生产时间的延长。
为了解决这个问题,除其他方法外,庞巴迪与OVA发起了一个项目,通过使用增强现实技术帮助其操作人员定位A220复合材料部件的缺陷。目标是让复合材料制造机器人向增强现实设备提供每一个可能的缺陷的精确位置(在X、Y和Z轴上),反过来,增强现实设备将在机身部件的数字孪生体上显示缺陷并指导操作员。
预测性
挑战
增强现实技术用于质量控制
真正节省时间
我们使用StellarX,我们的XR沙盘平台来实现这一目标。我们的AR解决方案允许操作员快速识别关键坐标,通过易于使用的界面验证和更新其状态,实时检查历史和当前数据,并在检查前后对机身部件进行对比分析。它还可以自动创建一份详细的质量控制报告。
简单而高效
交付的系统由球体组成,定位复合分层机器人识别的潜在缺陷。通过一个可移动的浮动界面,技术人员就可以快速检查该位置,并实时更新其修复状态。为该项目开发的机器学习算法可显著提高Hololens的物体检测能力,从而实现更好的锚定、更高的精度,进而提高工作效率。
无限的可能性
我们的技术解决方案是在6个月的时间里作为原型在生产环境中开发和测试的。事实证明,StellarX AR足够强大,适合工业用途,例如,操作人员必须对飞机部件进行重型维修。这种增强现实技术,
,以及其完全可定制的浮动界面,无疑为制造和质量控制带来了全新的能力。
我们相信,像这样的StellarX工具包可以对空间规划、资产跟踪、资产状态确定、数据收集、汇总、基于物理学的模拟、数字架构和过程自动化产生巨大影响,从而使各种客户群和行业受益。

在这个项目的过程中,先进航空航天制造领域出现了一种新的模式。一些更多的实践研究已经同时进行,通过预测性维护、实时监测和质量控制,实现了创新和持续改进的循环。从第一阶段的学习中,我们发现了大量的可能性,以推动利用增强现实技术开发检测工具,不仅适用于交通行业,还适用于更多的行业。事实上,目前第二阶段正在进行中,并已通过Scale AI获得资助。
结果和优势
在植入该技术一年后,庞巴迪公司注意到生产效率提高了260%,每生产一架飞机节省了5小时的时间。设备的可靠性和稳健性提高了,同时操作人员的工作量以及管理负担也大大降低了。整体结果非常令人鼓舞,新的潜在应用已经被发现。

该项目展示了数据驱动合作的互利性,实现了先进的计算和建模方法以及商业技术发展机会。我们现在已经告知、开发和发展了与项目关键工业数字技术相关的技术准备度和商业准备度。
提高生产力
节省的时间
质量更好
这就是今天的庞巴迪公司的运营方式。这是一个典型的例子,说明创新将如何帮助我们的运营商发挥其真正的潜力。

Buu Khanh Vo,庞巴迪宇航公司研发专家。
通过邮箱获取最新咨询。

Download Study
Download Usecase
Predictive maintenance
Increased productivity Happy workers
Aircraft inspection is a critical part of commercial aviation operations, and has to be performed continuously. The use of composite as a material of choice for aircraft fuselage has increased significantly over the past decades, as well as the volume of aircraft produced. Consequently,  to meet increasing demands, the composite manufacturing process was automated. With more parts produced at a faster pace, the need for efficient quality inspection and repair became critical.

One of the crucial steps when manufacturing fuselage panels is visual inspection: each defect must be individually located, and then verified by an operator before transitioning into the next stage. Yet, due to the very large dimensions of fuselage panels as well as their material characteristics (dark, very little reflection, and few features to be used as anchor points), this task can be quite cumbersome. When defects are first identified by the machines placing the composite fibers, raw report logs are produced; the necessary repairs must then be manually mapped by technicians, who often rely on written records and photographs to guide them. Information must be double or triple-checked to ensure complete accuracy, which inevitably leads to elevated production time.
To solve this issue, among other approaches, Bombardier initiated a project with OVA to help its operators locate defects on A220 composite parts by using Augmented Reality. The goal was for the composite manufacturing robot to provide the precise location (on a X,Y & Z axis) of every possible defect to the Augmented Reality device which, in turn, would display the defects on a digital twin of the fuselage part and guide the operator.
PREDICTABILITY
CHALLENGE
Augmented Reality for quality control
The real time-saver
We used StellarX, our XR sandbox platform, to achieve this goal. Our AR solution allowed the operators to quickly identify key coordinates, verify and update their status through an easy-to-use interface, examine historical and current data in real-time, and execute comparative analyses of the fuselage pieces before, and after the inspection. It also allowed for the automated creation of a detailed Quality Control report.
Simple, yet efficient
The delivered system consists of spheres locating the potential defects identified by the composite layering robot. Through a movable floating interface, the technician can then quickly inspect the location, and update its repair status in real-time. Machine learning algorithms developed for this project increase Hololens object detection significantly, allowing for better anchoring, more precision, and thus, more efficiency.
Endless possibilities
Our technological solution was developed and tested as a prototype in a production environment over the course of 6 months. StellarX AR proved to be robust enough for industrial usage where, for example, the operators had to perform heavy repairs on aircraft components. This Augmented Reality technology,
as well as its fully customizable floating interface, definitely enables brand new capabilities for manufacturing and quality control. 
We believe StellarX toolkits such as this one could have a dramatic impact on spatial planning, asset tracking, asset state determination, data collection, aggregation, physics-based simulations, digital architecture, and process automation, thereby benefiting various customer bases and industries.

Over the course of this project, a new paradigm has emerged in the field of advanced aerospace manufacturing. Some more hands-on research has already taken place simultaneously, enabling a cycle of innovation and continuous improvement through predictive maintenance, real-time monitoring and quality control. Learnings from this first phase have led us to a plethora of possibilities to push the development of inspection tools using Augmented Reality, not only for the Transportation industry, but for many more. In fact, the second phase is currently in progress, and has been funded through Scale AI.
RESULTS & BENEFITS
A year after the implantation of the technology, Bombardier has noted a 260% increase in productivity, and 5 hours of saved time per plane produced. Equipment reliability and robustness has increased, while the workload of the operators as well as the administrative burden has drastically decreased. The overall results were very encouraging, and new potential applications have been identified. 

This project has demonstrated the mutual benefits of data-driven collaboration, enabling advanced computational and modelling approaches and commercial technology development opportunities. We have now informed, developed and evolved Technology Readiness Levels and Commercial Readiness Levels related to the project’s key industrial digital technologies.
Increased productivity
Saved time
Better quality
This is how today’s Bombardier is operating. This is a prime example of how innovation will help our operator meet their true potential.

Buu Khanh Vo, R&D Specialist, Bombardier Aerospace
Get the latest updates
delivered right to your inbox.