虚拟存在
综合护理穿越噪音
OVA与位于蒙特利尔的精神健康研究中心菲利普-皮内尔研究所合作,为精神分裂症患者开发了一种虚拟现实体验,使他们有能力面对自己的幻觉并制定有效的应对策略。 
使用StellarX,病人可以通过创建一个定制的化身形象将他们内心的声音带入生活,然后医生可以将其作为一种治疗性的应对工具。除了获得有关这些幻觉的宝贵见解外,虚拟效果图还可以与亲人分享,以帮助他们更好地了解精神分裂症对病人的影响。 
适应性
挑战
一个个性化的方法
找到一个适应每个病人的解决方案
通过与Philippe-Pinel研究所的科学家和研究人员合作,我们的团队开发了一种可定制的XR治疗体验,对医生、病人和他们的亲人都有好处。

使用StellarX,病人和治疗师可以一起工作,通过一个他们可以在虚拟现实环境中互动的化身,将负责他们幻觉的实体变成现实。这样做使病人能够在自己的治疗中发挥积极作用,因为他们学会了在一个真实的、适应的、与他们在现实生活中面临的实际情况相关的环境中应用各种应对策略。
面对面
在治疗前,病人向设计技术人员描述他们通常看到和听到的东西。然后他们的恶魔就会在他们眼前出现,迫使他们直面幻觉,并最终形成有效的防御机制。
一个真正的突破
这种方法为卫生专业人员提供了一个独特的机会,通过第三方与病人互动,从关系和数据收集的角度来看,这是非常有价值和有见地的。此外,视觉和听觉的模拟效果图被用来教育患者的家人和朋友关于精神分裂症的生活,这让他们更好地了解他们所爱的人所面临的现实。
结果和优势
事实证明,有能力挑战幻觉,同时通过各种练习得到帮助,对许多病人来说是一种转变。在与精神科医生仅仅进行了6次治疗后,参与试点项目的19名患者中的大多数人都看到了明显的改善,并感到他们有更好的能力来应对听到的声音。在CBC发表的一篇文章《蒙特利尔精神分裂症患者通过虚拟现实面对他们的恶魔》中,一位患者提到,"声音已经从80%减少到90%",并坚信这样的治疗已经帮助他回到正常的工作和社会活动中。

更加自信
改善关系
更好地理解
高效的应对方法
声音已经从80%减少到90%。
Richard Breton,病人
六个疗程的虚拟现实试验项目的结果显示,在治疗最棘手的精神分裂症病例方面有很大希望。
菲利普-皮内尔研究所的精神病学家和研究员亚历山大-杜马斯博士
相关文章:
通过邮箱获取最新咨询。

Virtual Presence
Comprehensive Care Cutting Through the Noise
In collaboration with the Philippe-Pinel Institute, a mental health research center located in Montreal, OVA has developed a Virtual Reality experience for those living with Schizophrenia, which empowers them to face their hallucinations and develop coping strategies that work. 
Using StellarX, patients can bring their inner voices to life via the creation of a customized avatar figure, which Doctors can then use as a therapeutic coping tool. In addition to gaining valuable insight as to these hallucinations, the virtual renderings can also be shared with loved ones to help them gain a better understanding as to how Schizophrenia is impacting the patient. 
ADAPTABILITY
CHALLENGE
A personalized approach
Finding a solution that is adaptable to each patient
In collaboration with Scientists and Researchers at the Philippe-Pinel Institute, our team has developed a customizable therapeutic XR experience that is beneficial to Doctors, patients, and their loved ones.  
Using StellarX, patients and therapists can work together to bring the entity responsible for their hallucinations to life via an avatar that they can both interact with in a Virtual Reality setting. Doing so empowers patients to play an active role in their own therapy as they learn to apply various coping strategies in a context that is authentic, adapted, and relevant to the actual situations they face in real-life.
Face to face
Before the session, patients describe what they usually see and hear to a design technician. Their demons then come to life before their eyes, forcing them to confront hallucinations head-on and to eventually develop effective defense mechanisms.
A real breakthrough
This approach provides health professionals with a unique opportunity to interact with patients via a third-party, which is significantly valuable and insightful from a relational and data collection standpoint. Plus, the visual and auditory simulation renderings are used to educate the partient’s families and friends about living with Schizophrenia, which gives them a better understanding as to the reality faced by their loved one.
RESULTS & BENEFITS
Having the ability to challenge hallucinations while being assisted through various exercises has proven to be transformative for many patients. After just 6 sessions with a psychiatrist, most of the 19 patients involved in the pilot project have seen a significant improvement and feel like they are better equipped to cope with the voices heard. In an article published by CBC, Montreal Schizophrenia Patients Face Their Demons Through Virtual Reality, one patient mentioned, “the voices have diminished from 80 to 90 per cent” and firmly believed that such therapy has helped him return to his regular work and social activities.  

More self-confidence
Improved relationships
Better understanding
Efficient coping methods
The voices have diminished from 80 to 90 percent.
Richard Breton, Patient
The results of the six-session virtual-reality pilot project show great promise in treating even the most intractable cases of schizophrenia.
Dr. Alexandre Dumas, Psychiatrist and Researcher at the Philippe-Pinel Institute
RELATED ARTICLES:
Get the latest updates
delivered right to your inbox.